Creating a new page can be done by selecting the space or a page and
- clicking Content and New Page
- clicking the new page button
- pressing n
The page will appear in the Space Admin Browser tree.
If a page with the automatically generated title "New page" already exists in the destination space, creation will fail. First, rename the old page with the name "New page" into something more meaningful.
There are several ways to copy pages in Space Admin
Copying a single page
To copy a single page, select the page in your Space Admin Browser and
- click Edit and Copy
- click copy button
- press c
- use the context menu
In the next window, a destination space and an optional parent page have to be selected. Some additional options for the copy can be dis-/ enabled.
While copying a single page, the page can be renamed. If you select the option to copy the child pages, you can specify a pre and suffix. When choosing this option, the pages names will be appended with this prefix/suffix. This is helpful if there is already a page with the same name in the destination space, which is not allowed in Confluence. The page title will have then this structure: prefix + actual name + suffix.
All child pages will also be appended with the prefix/ suffix.
You can also use a regular expression to search and replace page names.
The copied page will be listed in the Space Admin browser after the copy process is completed.
A new version can only be created in a different space.
Copying multiple pages
Copying several pages with some of their sub-pages is possible by selecting the pages with Ctrl+click and
- clicking Edit and Copy
- clicking the copy button
- pressing c
- using the context menu
The next window offers the same options as those available when copying only one page.
Copying a page with Ctrl
You can also copy a page by pressing Ctrl, clicking on a page and then drag and dropping to the desired location.
The page will be copied with default parameters and a copy of all its child pages.
An icon will show if copying is possible.
A page cannot be copied into its own child pages if the page to be copied has child pages.
If there is already a page with the same name on the destination page, then the newly copied page will be renamed and appended a consecutive number.
Copying a page to multiple spaces
SINCE VERSION 2.1.0
This is a useful feature when using page templates in similar spaces, by allowing the copying of a single page into multiple spaces, as defined in a Space Shuttle category.
To copy a page to multiple spaces, select a page in the Space Admin browser and
- click Edit and then Copy page to multiple spaces
- click the Copy page to multiple spaces button next to the Copy button
The following screenshots show an example of copying a page to multiple spaces.
First the page is selected from the desired source space.
Then the spaces are selected by choosing a category previously configured in the Space Shuttle (in our case Customer, which contains 3 spaces).
And the result is as expected, all the spaces in the Customer category now contain the copied page.
Using Space Admin for Confluence, single or multiple pages including child pages can be deleted.
To delete a single page select the page in the Space Admin Browser tree and
- click Edit and Delete or
- click the delete button or
- press Del or
- use the context menu
A window will open. The option Delete child pages is enabled by default. Disable this option to only delete the selected page.
The former child pages will be sorted underneath the top-level page.
If there are no child pages this option will not be shown.
Pages can be deleted permanently by checking the option "Don't trash pages. Remove them".
Deleted pages with this option checked cannot be restored.
Deleting multiple pages works the same as deleting one page.
Pages can be renamed by selecting the page to be renamed and then choosing one of the options below:
- Clicking Edit and Rename
- Clicking rename button
- Pressing F2
- Using the context menu
The action will be completed by entering a new name and confirming by pressing enter or clicking somewhere else.
It is not possible to assign an identical page name twice in one space.
Pages can be reordered using drag and drop or with the move function to move pages and their children to another space.
Moving a page into a space containing pages with identical names is not possible. You have to rename the pages before they can be moved.
Pages can be moved by selecting them and either
- clicking Edit and Move
- clicking the move button
- pressing m
In the following popup window the target space and optionally a page in that space that the selected page should be moved to can be selected.
Sort child pages
Child pages can easily be sorted ascending and descending by selecting the parent page and pressing one of the buttons in the menu bar:
This option compares pages and highlights the differences. Use it by selecting the pages through Ctrl+click and then either
- clicking View and Compare
- clicking compare button
- pressing d
The compare feature can be executed in two directions. It depends on the order in which the pages were selected.
The window will highlight the differences using the following colors:
- Green: someting was added
- Red: something was deleted
- Blue: the format has changed
To preview pages in the Space Admin Browser select a page by either
- clicking View and Preview
- clicking the preview button
- pressing v
- using the context menu
A window will show a little preview of the page you've selected.
The links in the preview dialog are disabled.
Setting a new Homepage
A little house symbol shows the current homepage. This can be changed within the Space Admin Browser by selecting a new page and then either
- clicking the Set Homepage button
- using the Context menu
- pressing h
To publish a page choose the Publish option in the context menu of a page or use the publish button.
If you create a version the following will happen:
- the page to be published will be copied into another space
- the current page with the same name in this space will be overwritten
- a new version will be created in the Confluence page history
Publishing pages this way can be used for maintaining a documentation.
You have a public space and a private space with identically pages. In the private space you change the content of the documentation and work on it without affecting the public documentation. When you are finished you can publish the new documentation to the public space.
Pages cannot be published in the same space!
Editing Page labels
The editor will show all existing labels from all selected pages, posts and attachments.
Labels can be added to all selected entities or deleted from the entity where it is set.
You can do this by selecting a specific page and then either
- clicking the label button
- using the context menu
- clicking Content and Labels
- pressing l
There are 3 options that can be chosen when editing the labels:
- Add: Add new labels to the page
- Set: Overwrite the existing labels on the page with the new ones
- Delete: Delete the entered labels from the page
You can only add, set or remove labels if you have the permission to edit the page.
SINCE VERSION 1.3.0
If a page has any restrictions, they can be seen by selecting the page and either
- using the highlight page restrictions button
- clicking View menu and Show Page Restrictions
All pages in the current spaces which have a restriction will be highlighted in red.
Add Page Permissions
Page Permissions can be added by selecting all pages that should have the specific permissions and clicking the Add Page Permissions button.
In the opening popup window a group or user and the specific permission has to be selected.
Deleting Page Permissions
To remove page permissions, specific user or group permissions can be deleted.
In addition, the view and edit permissions node can be selected and deleted at once.
Furthermore, the page/ blog post or the restriction node can be selected to delete all page/ blog post permissions.
|Selected item||Option when clicking the delete button|
|Page||Delete all page permissions|
|View/ edit node||Delete all view/ edit permissoins|
|user/ groups||Delete the user/ groups permission|
User/ group information
User/ group information can easily be viewed in the Space Admin Browser. It is useful to check which users are in a specific group.
By selecting the specific group and clicking the User/Group information button, all group members will be shown in a popup window.
In the shown popup window it can be searched for specific users and groups.